Various Artists - 70024 Beats Roots Vol.1

Label: Ruff Stuff Music
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 33 RPM
Release: 2022
Genre: ,
Country: Spain
Coming soon...

Ruff Stuff Music returns with its first release in four years this March, the project sees label head Ruff Stuff releasing material from himself and three other artists, all of which come from the same town, have been friends from many years and share the same love for a particular style of house. With the ‘70024 Beats Roots Vol.1’, Ruff Stuff welcomes onto the various artist package his ex Ruff Stuff production partner, now producing under the name of Flaze, Bress Underground and Toysin who debuts this moniker but is also known for his Techno material under the guise Earwax. Flaze’s ‘Resolve’ leads the release and lays down an amalgamation of hazy chords, bumpy bass stabs, wandering strings and stuttering vocal chops atop a swinging drum groove. Bress Underground’s ‘I Bet You’re Wond’rin’ follows next and retains a similarly deep aesthetic, fusing ethereal pads, gritty bass stabs and bright piano sequences with crunchy shuffled drums and cut up vocal lines. Label boss Ruff Stuff opens the flip-side next with ‘Gut Feel’, bringing a more vintage tinge to things via organ hits, cinematic strings, circling fm synth lines and squelchy acid licks. Toysin’s ‘You Don’t Pass The Exam’ then rounds out the release on a disco house tip via looped and chopped funk-guitar licks, vocal chants and weighty subs, while a weight 4/4 drum groove further fuels the energetic, peak time feel.
We use cookies to give you the best online experience, please let us know if you agree. Read our cookie policy.